ESOS | Pulse Business Energy


ESOS, Energy Saving Opportunity Scheme, is an energy auditing scheme that came into force in July 2014. It is part of the requirements of the EU Energy Efficiency Directive (EU/2007/12).

Generally, ESOS is mandatory for organisations who meet one of the following sets of criteria:

  • 250 or more employees (part and full time); OR
  • ~ £42 million turnover AND more than ~ £35 million on their balance sheet as of 31 December 2014.

Your organisation may also qualify even if you don’t meet this criteria. For example, if another organisation in your corporate group meet the criteria, the whole UK-based corporate group would need to comply with the scheme.

ESOS Requirements

ESOS operates in four-year phases, with one assessment required per phase:

Phase I: 6 December 2011 – 5 December 2015
Phase II: 6 December 2015 – 5 December 2019

An ESOS assessment includes:

  • Measuring your energy consumption within a defined scope;
  • Carrying out energy audits or another route to compliance on areas of significant energy;
  • Reviewing the assessment with senior management, obtaining sign off from a qualified ESOS Lead Assessor, and notifying the government of compliance.

While your ESOS assessment should have been completed by 5 December 2015, Pulse understands that you may only now be undertaking your Phase I assessment. Pulse have a qualified Lead Assessor on staff, who completed 20 ESOS assessments in 2015. We can assist you with your late compliance or even with getting a head start on your Phase II assessment.

Implementing ESOS findings

An ESOS assessment will point out cost-effective ways to save energy (thus money) in your organisation. If you have already completed your Phase I ESOS assessment, the only way you will see a return on the investment into that assessment is to implement the findings.  Pulse are now working with our clients to carry out numerous energy efficiency projects, and can assist you with implementing you ESOS assessment findings too.

ESOS related articles – three part series: